Killarney Lakes


The Lakes of Killarney are a renowned scenic attraction located near Killarney, County Kerry Ireland. They consist of three lakes – Lough Leane, Muckross Lake (also called Middle Lake) and Upper Lake.

Lough Leane (Irish Loch Léin) meaning Lake of Learning is the largest of three lakes. The River Laune drains Lough Leane to the north towards Killorglin and into Dingle Bay

The lakes lie in a mountain ringed valley starting in the Black Valley. The mountains include:

The three main lakes of Killarney occupy a broad valley stretching south between the mountains. The three lakes and the mountains that surround them are all within the Killarney National Park. The Lower Lake is nearest to the town, it is studded with islands and has Muckross Abbey and Ross Castle on its eastern shore. The Lower Lake is separated from the Middle Lake (sometimes called Muckross Lake) by the wooded peninsula of Muckross. At the tip of the Muckross Peninsula is the quaint Brickeen Bridge and Dinis Island is further on with its sub-tropical vegetation and views of the ‘Meeting of the Waters’. A narrow straight called the Long Range leads to the island-studded Upper Lake, which is surrounded by lush vegetation.


{ 2 comments… read them below or add one }

Jo Mcmullan February 25, 2008 at 11:13 am

I just adore this place. We spent nearly 3 months ther last summer. I could not get enough of the walks forest parks etc.hope 2 visit this Year again. Full marks for such a heavenly place xo jo

Lowell Card March 28, 2012 at 3:57 am

There is a young man in my care who would like to go fishing on the Killarney lakes early in April. I cannot seem to find info re feasability, rules about fishing, boat hire, and access. Any response with information would be appreciated.

Leave a Comment

{ 1 trackback }

- bid7 - auction8